How the World Cup teams

How the World Cup teams


  • 1 Number of current World Cup soccer teams
  • 2 Number of teams crowned World Cup football
  • 3 system for future World Cup
  • 4 References

Number of current World Cup soccer teams

Under the supervision of the International Football Federation (FIFA) held the World Cup football on a regular basis; He held every four years since 1930, when launched the first edition of the World Cup football, Uruguay won the first of which version. Participants in the current system of the tournament Thirty-two teams nationally competing with each other; To win the title of the most important tournament in football. The teams participating in the World Cup finals to qualify for the tournament through the qualifying system, which will be held at the level of continental; As all national teams in every continent where competing separately. [1]

Number of teams crowned World Cup football

Every four years will hold the World Cup soccer tournament, so since 1930, to the present time, but the championships the years 1942 and 1946 have been canceled; Because of World War II, [2] During the twenty-one version of the World Cup finals, has managed eight international teams to get the title, knowing that most of these teams the culmination of the World Cup is the Brazilian team, which won the title five times. [3]

It should be noted that the French team is the last champion of the World Cup in the final version of them, which was established in 2018 in Russia. [1] The following table shows the winner of the World Cup teams, and the number of times the culmination of each title: [3]

Future system for the World Cup

FIFA is moving (FIFA) to increase the number of teams participating in the World Cup finals to become the forty-eight elected national instead of thirty-two, according to the current system, starting from the year 2026 AD, [4] which will take place in the continent of North America; Both in the United States of America, Canada, and Mexico. [2] note that it will be the division of the participating teams to sixteen groups, in each of which three teams qualify, including two teams: the first and second of each group to the knockout stage. [5]


  • ^ أ ب "World Cup",, Retrieved 17-5-2019. Edited.
  • ^ أ ب "World Cup Host Countries",, Retrieved 17-5-2019. Edited.
  • ^ أ ب "ROLL OF HONOUR",, Retrieved 17-5-2019. Edited.
  • ↑ "Qualifying for the World Cup",, Retrieved 17-5-2019. Edited.
  • ↑ "Unanimous decision expands FIFA World Cup™ to 48 teams from 2026",, Retrieved 17-5-2019. Edited.


We regret it!

Successfully sent, thank you!

Related Posts
• The first Arab country reached the World Cup soccer finals
• The first country organized the World Youth Cup
• Of the foundations of the World Cup
• Methods of organizing sports competitions